Multi-hazard Zone Maps for Community Risk Assessment

Community Risk Assessment (CRA) is a process of identification, assessment and analysis of hazard specific risks in different vulnerable sectors of a community and preparation of a consensual risk reduction strategy to address these problems by involving communities, particularly those groups that are most vulnerable. Using the CRA guidelines of the Comprehensive Disaster Management Program (CDMP), CEGIS prepared multi-hazard zone maps for 64 unions and 3 paurashavas of Hatibandha, Godagari, Chauhali, Dharampasha, Moheshkhali, Sadarpur and Assasuni upazilas. The maps will be helpful to local communities, managers and decision makers for disaster and risk management. The work was supported under the European Community funded CDMP Component 3d: ‘Support for Livelihood Security Hazard Awareness’.