Board of Trustee (BoT)

CEGIS is administered by the BoT which is headed by the Hon'ble Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources, GoB, as its Chairperson and the Executive Director of CEGIS as its Member-Secretary.

Board of Trustees

People's Republic of Bangladesh
Kabir Bin Anwar
Secretary in charge, Ministry of Water Resources and Chairperson of CEGIS Board of Trustees
Engr. Md. Mahfuzur Rahman
Director General, Bangladesh Water Development Board (BWDB)

Khondaker Khalequzzaman
Director General, Water Resources Planning Organization (WARPO)

Dr. Sultan Ahmed
Director General (Addl. Charge), Department of Environment (DoE)

Sayed Arif Azad
Director General, Department of Fisheries (DoF)

Md. Abul Kalam Azad
Chief Engineer, Local Government Engineering Department (LGED)

Engr Ebne Alam Hasan
Chief Engineer, Roads and Highways Department (RHD)

Md. Rashidul Huque
Chief Engineer, Department of Public Health Engineering (DPHE)

Md. Badrul Alam
Chairman (Additional Charge), Space Research and Remote Sensing Organization (SPARRSO)

Commodore Mohammad Mozammel Haque
Chairman, Bangladesh Inland Water Transport Authority (BIWTA)

Md. Abdur Rahman
Chairman, Rajdhani Unnayan Kartripakkha (RAJUK)

Professor Dr Md Abdul Matin
Professor, Dept. of Water Rosources, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET)

Professor Dr Nasreen Ahmad
Professor, Department of Geography and Environment, University of Dhaka (DU)

Raquibul Amin
Country Representative, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN-Bangladesh)

Dr M Mokhlesur Rahman
Executive Director (ED), CNRS

Executive Committee (EC)

The Executive Committee (EC) is a four-member body headed by the Hon'ble Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources, GoB. The other members are:

  • Trustee elected by the BoT - Treasurer
  • Trustee nominated by the BoT - Member
  • Executive Director, CEGIS - Member Secretary

The EC recommends operational actions of CEGIS based on issues and places before the Board of Trustee for approval. EC meetings are conducted before the BoT meetings.


Engr. Md. Mahfuzur Rahman
Director General (DG)

The Director General (DG), BWDB, has been given the responsibility of treasurer of CEGIS. In EC meetings he discusses the financial matters of CEGIS that he looks after at macro level in addition to other issues.


Dr. Md. Abdul Matin
Professor, Department of Water Resources Engineering, BUET

Dr. Md. Abdul Matin, Professor, Department of Water Resources Engineering, BUET is a member the Committee and plays a decision-making role in EC meetings.

Member Secretary

Engr. Md Waji Ullah
Executive Director, CEGIS

The Executive Director (ED) of CEGIS acts as the Member Secretary of the EC. He raises issues for discussion at the meetings and plays an active role in executing the directions of the BoT.